Just a show at Historic Texas Theatre

Happy New Year!

Hope everyone had a lovely holiday with full of memories with family and friends. How was your Christmas? Mine was okay. I was only off on Christmas Day and today, but I am thankful to have a job so I won’t complain.

The Sunday before Christmas I stupidly went to the Galleria to return a few presents that I bought. Yes, return presents. I may have gotten a little crazy while shopping and the way my bank account is set up…

Moving forward, I went to the Galleria AND North Park to return a few items before meeting up with my friend Jordan in Oak Cliff at Historic Texas Theatre to watch “A Christmas Story.” Now, if any of you are from Dallas and never ventured to certain parts of Oak Cliff, you are really missing out. Yes, they are some scary parts, but other neighborhoods are historic, beautiful and a must see. The Texas Historic Theater is one of those places.

311

“A Christmas Story” is apparently a holiday classic about a little boy named Ralphie who wants a BB Gun for Christmas. I say apparently because I’ve never seen or heard of this movie prior to this day. I know. Sad, Vicky D. Very sad.

312

You know me though, I am down for anything new and out of the ordinary.

The movie was hilarious and indeed a classic. I actually remember seeing the famous leg lamp on Pinterest one day. It made sense after seeing the movie. One random note—Ralphie, played by Peter Billingsley, is actually a well-known producer today, directing movie including one of my faves “Four Christmases.” (MISTLETOE!!!)

310

Historic Texas Theatre is remarkable, vintage and a beautiful addition to our city. It’s truly remarkable to see that locations like this still exist. Oak Cliff is very old part of Dallas. Slowly, but surely the area is starting to be revitalized through restaurants, boutiques and frankly, the removal of fear from Dallasites who used to think the area was only full of crime and gangs. Oak Cliff is beautiful.309

I am so excited that I had the experience, and I can’t wait for my next experience!
 
Talk to you later,

Vicky D

Leave a Reply

