Bikram Yoga Dallas Review

Hey There Folks,

Happy Friday to You! How was your week been? I’ve kind of had a case of the blahs (yet again) this week. I don’t know if it’s because of the cold (always with the weather) or if I just couldn’t come back from Thanksgiving the way i wanted to. If that made any sense.

I haven’t blogged in a while, primarily because I needed to spend some time thinking and reflecting. About what you ask? Oh, just life in general. I have a lot going on right now in my life right now. My mind is frankly overwhelmed with thoughts. I didn’t realize this fact until I started writing this post.

Nonetheless, I had been meaning to write a review about my first experience doing Bikram Yoga. Several months ago, Bikram Yoga Dallas had a GroupOn- $24 for one month unlimited of unlimited classes.

bikram yoga groupon

One of my good friends had been doing Bikram for a while now, nearly a year, and had seen great results both physically and emotionally. So, I’ll give it a whirl.

Procrastination has always been a weakness-I admit it-but it’s usually because I’m afraid of something. Weird to admit that too. In this case, I was honestly afraid of not only passing out in the class, but I was not the least bit enthusiastic about walking out of a room drenching wet from head to toe. Need I remind you that I am African American. Our hair is a commitment. That’s all I will say. So, I put it off, got sick, put it off, got sick again. Finally, when I figured out that if I didn’t use it, I was going to lose it, I scheduled an appointment.

My first class was a Friday night, because I am apparently a loser with no plans. I drank a ton of water that day, because that’s what my friend told me to do, and I got to the studio literally 30 minutes early, because that’s what Dallas rush hour traffic forces you to do.

The teacher quickly learned that it was my first time when I checked in and said I had a GroupOn. Now, I have to admit (yet again), that while I’m a nice person, sometimes I can come off very rude and mean, especially when I feel inferior to people. This was one of those times.

“Please, oh please, don’t say anything that will make me act my color or forget I have an MBA,” I said to my apparently ignorant myself.

She was so sweet, encouraging and honestly eased my nerves a little bit.

My friend and I got set up in the room. The heat was already starting to affect me. Why on Earth would anyone want to just sit in these conditions, much less do exercise in them?

The class hadn’t even started yet. I was already complaining.

I laid down rented mat, towel brought from home and face towel on the ground behind my friend. Let me encourage all first-time Bikram Yogis, as they call them, to arrive a little bit early for your first class so that you can get acclimated to the condition of the room.

And then it began. The lights came on. The teacher politely “called me out” as being a first timer, and the 90 minutes commenced.

Now, the goal of the first class is simply to get through the entire session WITHOUT leaving the room. I could stop, sit down, lay down, whatever, as many times as I wanted, but leaving the room was always discouraged. Of course the body wasn’t going to like 105 degree/50% humidity environments. Who would?

The second goal is to honestly breathe, so that you won’t pass out or leave the room. I always knew breathing was critical to the body, but MAN, there is a science to just inhaling and exhaling.

I felt a little silly doing some of the poses. I couldn’t do some of the AT ALL, but I am happy to report that I didn’t leave the room nor did I pass out. Good job, Vicky D.

As expected my hair was dripping wet when I left the class, but I was very proud of myself for simply completing it. The next day, I went to the 10 a.m. class. (So long pretty hair.) They encouraged newcomers to do their 2nd class 24 hours after the first one. Something about it helping with the recovery process. It’s true. Sweat was dripping from every part of my body, but it actually felt good.

So much better in fact that i went the following Tuesday too. I am a glutton for sweaty punishment. The Tuesday class was really hard. I struggled more than I had in any of the rest f them. No idea why. I pushed through though and didn’t leave the room.

Several thoughts entered my mind after I left the studio that evening. I was feeling a little defeated after my class; the over achiever in me kicked in and wanted to go even more so that I could get better. I was really determined, inspired, motivated, all that jazz to become a “yogi” and really practice yoga more. Then, I remembered that my GroupOn only lasted 3.5 more weeks, December 2nd to be exact. After that, I would have to pay 100 bucks PER MONTH for unlimited session or $20/class. EEEK!

Instead of spending another 3 weeks in the classes trying to get better, just to leave, I decided to just stop going and forego my investment. The GroupOn was only $25, I had already went three times which is like $60, so I pretty much got a great deal. I was really bummed about it, but I have financial goals to reach and that $100/month could definitely be used other places.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to return to some sort of “hot” yoga in 2013 once things are better financially. As big of a pill as that is to swallow, and slightly embarrassing,  I know it’s the best choice for ME. My body is my temple, but there are lots of ways to keep this temple healthy and in shape without breaking the bank.

Now, if YOU have the money, I would strongly encourage anyone and everyone to try Bikram Yoga. It really is a spiritual experience that will not only transform your body externally, but internally as well.

I hope you have a great Friday! Busy weekend of birthdays ahead. December is a BIG birthday month in my family. Have a great day!

Toodles,
Vicky D

P.S. Sorry for the picture-less post. I took pictures of all of this, but one day, I stupidly erased them from my phone. I have no idea why. I told you…lots of my mind right now.

Leave a Reply

