When in Rome, Dress Up for Halloween

Happy First Day of November! Good googaly moogaly, hard to believe it’s already November. Where has the year gone? I feel like it was just September yesterday. This is just intense. The year is going by WAY too fast.

So, how was your Halloween? It’s weird for me to even type that sentence because I don’t even celebrate Halloween. My family and I were and still are very religious. Growing up Halloween was viewed as an evil holiday. True story. However, to be fun for the kids, my church always had a Harvest Festival where the kids could dress up, collect candy, have fun with their friends in a wholesome, safe environment. I never knew anything beyond that for a long time. I believed Halloween was just that, some sort of Satanic holiday where scary people would come out their shell and cast spells. Oh, how sheltered I was.

In high school, this time of year was always super busy because it was marching band season, and we were preparing for a BIG contest, whether it was the State Championship or another competition. Dressing up was the last thing on my mind.

Moving on to college, I carried my elementary attitude with me, and never, not once dressed up as anything for several reasons: 1) I didn’t want to be any sexy, slutty, etc. 2) Couldn’t think of anything clever to wear or 3) The usual excuse-i have to work. It just wasn’t a big deal to me. I honestly could do without the entire day myself. What a scrooge!

Sure did take this from Low and Behold…so freaking hilarious!

As an adult, I only dressed up once as an ice cream cone and that was two years ago. Having heard this entire story, you can only imagine how ecstatic I was to hear that my new company, specifically our CEO, is a HUGE fan of Halloween.

They go all out for the holiday! Shortly after my arrival, the lobby, conference room, kitchen, everywhere I went had been transformed into a mini-haunted house.

Can’t even make this up.

Then came the day when I was asked what I was going to be.  Oh boy. Now, I had a choice, I could continue to be a Halloween Scrooge or give a whirl. After all, when in Rome…

Since HR, IT and Marketing all work with all the divisions, we dressed up as a group. I spent the Hallows Eve (Oct. 30th) working on my costume. If I was going to wear something, best believe it was going to be amazing.

Our result–The Four Seasons: Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter.

I decided to be winter because honestly, it’s my favorite time of year.

Brrrrr…

The day was really a lot of fun walking around the office observing all the creative costumes from the groovy 70s, rockin 80s to a more topical costume, Burned Big Tex (may he RIP.)

And you wouldn’t even believe it what happened next, we won BEST GROUP COSTUME! Shut the front door! You heard right. We actually were rewarded for our creative genius, $25 to be exact. Not too shabby, not too shabby at all.

To think, had I chosen to maintain my Scroogy ways, I would have missed out on a fun bonding activities with my new co-workers and a little dough to put in my pocket. All in all, it was a fun time, but boy am I happy to see November and…THE HOLIDAYS!!!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “When in Rome, Dress Up for Halloween

Leave a comment