Fall Fave-Pumpkin Spice Bread

Happy Friday! Hope you all had a fantastic week! It’s supposed to get cold here in Dallas this weekend…again…cue the drama. Maybe the brisk weather would be a perfect time to make this yumminess. Fall=pumpkin. And I absolutely LOVE fall AND pumpkin. In college, one of my best friends used to make this delicious pumpkin bread. It came from a pre-packaged mix, but it was so damn good. She made it like twice a week. I would be there to indulge. So.damn.good.

It’s funny that I even have this addiction to pumpkin bread because it’s not a very popular fruit amongst African-Americans. Growing up, I never even had pumpkin. We only had sweet potato, which is also yummy and similar in color, NOT similar in taste. I was very leary to even try the pumpkin bread when my friend made it because of this fact. Boy, am I happy that I didn’t allow this past experience or family tradition to change my opinion.

Considering that this same packaged pumpkin bread mixture made me slightly ill last year, I decided to make one that I could eat this year. Perusing on my favorite, Food Gawker Ap, I ran across a recipe by Erica over at Cannella Vita. This sweet girl is a high school student and amazing cook. Her passion for cooking reminds me of myself at that age, only I didn’t have a blog and cooking/eating wasn’t the “cool” thing to do.

Anywho, I made this recipe on Sunday night, discovered that it literally made 3 LOAVES of bread and then shared it with friends, family and carefully chosen co-workers. Remember, I have a new job. Can’t be trying out new recipes on people I just met, especially considering the fact that one of my colleagues owns her own catering company and makes DELICIOUS items!!

I digress. This recipe is fantastic. If you could wrap all the wonderful scents of fall into one item, this would be it. Each spice warms your insides. What is it about ginger that is so dang good? Love. It. The original recipe is actually lactose-free (no butter), but I just had to change it up a little bit because well…butter makes everything butter! Either way, you have to make this bread…like yesterday!

PUMPKIN SPICE BREAD

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin
  • 4 eggs
  • ½ cup of butter (1 stick)
  • ½ cup of vegetable oil
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 2 cups of white sugar
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 3 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 ½ teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • ½ teaspoon ground cloves
  • ¼ teaspoon ground ginger

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour three 7X3 inch loaf pans (funny that I completely missed that three part lol)
  2. Mix together the pumpkin puree, eggs, oil, butter, water and sugar until well blended. In a separate bowl, whisk together everything else—flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger. Stir the dry ingredients until the wet ingredients until well blended.
  3. Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pans. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean when stuck into the center!

Feel free to share these loaves with your friends….or keep it all for yourself. I don’t judge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

