That One Time I Decided to Start Running….Far

Thank you so much to those who read and commented on my recent bout with unemployment! Looks like many people have had several experiences and learned from them just as I did. I think we should all pat ourselves on the back for getting through it. It’s truly a blessing to have been offered another position only weeks after being laid off. I am really enjoying this new experience so far, especially my .8 of a mile commute to work. Yep, I literally live less than ONE MILE from my office. Best.commute.ever. Betsey doesn’t even know what to do with herself. hehe!

I am also proud of myself for FINALLY catching up on my blog post! In February, I talked about how I needed to do better! I mentioned several topics that I wanted to discuss. Here they are again just in case you forgot:

Call me butter (lactose free of course), cuz I’m on a roll. 🙂 I wanted to talk to you about The Boot & The Alternative, but I have to back up to White Rock first to explain. Let’s start from the very beginning, a very good place to start.

Shortly after I finished my MBA, of course, I got bored. What else is new? I’ve never been the kind of person that can just sit still for long periods of time. I am always moving and going somewhere. (Let me just say that being unemployed for three weeks broke me of that. It’s no longer a problem.) Anywho, I felt like I was on top of the world after I completed my graduate degree at the age of 25.  Sorry if that sounds conceited, but go and get an MBA, and then let me know how you feel after you walk across the stage. Anywho…I decided to that I wanted to accomplish another feat in my 1/4 century year mark in life. So, I decided to challenge myself in a way that I never had before-Athleticism.

You see, I was not that person in high school or college. I was the girl who did everything BESIDES play a sport. I have ALWAYS struggled somewhat with weight loss and finding the best eating habits. Being lactose intolerant fixed the latter problem. Pushing myself academically has never been an issue. I love to learn. I love to be in school. My MBA changed my opinion on that as well. LOL

So, June 2011, I decided to run a half marathon. For those of you who don’t know that’s 13.1 MILES. Seems like a close distance, but it’s really not. Next time you are driving, clock 13.1 miles on your odometer and let me know if you say “dang, that’s far!” My best friend Kacy ran several races and she sort of inspired me to give it a whirl. Then, several of my other friends ran halfs and one even ran a FULL. She’s beastly. If I can get an MBA through full-time school while working FULL TIME, I could do anything.

After weeks of research, I knew I was going to run the Dallas White Rock Half Marathon on December 4, 2011. Oh, I was not even ready for what was in store. I bought a pair of running shoes, some new cute running outfits (sweat is sexy especially with the right combo) and hit the streets! The pavement hit me right back.

2 thoughts on “That One Time I Decided to Start Running….Far

Leave a Reply

