Hello Autumn! My Very First Southern Buttermilk Peach Pie

Greetings Friends!!

Happy First Day of October! I wasn’t feeling the best yesterday at all. Darn girly parts. My family and I were supposed to go to brunch to celebrate a few exciting things, but when I woke up feeling crummy, we decided to postpone until Saturday. I woke up, watched church online, laid in bed for a while to watch The Break-Up (that ending still makes a little mad) and then slowly got up to start cleaning up the house.

***Sidenote—since moving into a 1BR by myself, I feel like I am ALWAYS cleaning or wiping down SOMETHING. I was talking to my friend Hilda about this a few weeks ago. She shares my pain. I think when I lived with two other girls, I could justify the mess since there were “so many of us.” Maybe I just didn’t care as much because there wasn’t a strong sense of pride in those living situations. I dunno. Now, I feel disgusting when I see all the hair on the bathroom floor, dishes in the sick, blankets everywhere and traces of my week all around my house. Anywho, I digress.***

After cleaning, I decided to go on a walk. So glad I did! Wow! It was gorgeous outside—the perfect fall weather. My turquoise sweatpants and pink sweatshirt kept me warm as I walked around my apartment property. Wonderful. I absolutely love fall weather. There is nothing better than the crisp air. Nothing. A few weeks ago, Hilda and I decided to cook a delicious lunch to welcome in the new season. I had been begging her to make me mole. I promised to bake something—a Southern Buttermilk Peach Pie.

Hilda discovered that mole would take too much time, so she decided to make chicken tacos. Of course, I was disappointed, but her homemade salsa and guacamole made up for it. YUM!!

Now, I have a big secret for you. Before that day, I don’t recall ever making a pie before. Of course, I’ve made those shake and pour pies, but never the kind where you have to lay out the crust and make the filling. This was a first for me! I am so happy that I tried. Unfortunately, I couldn’t really try any of it because of the buttermilk, but the snippet I did taste was more than delicious. It’s approval was even more confirmed when the Boy ate ¾ of the pie in a week. Yes folks, he ate ¾ of a 9 inch pie in less than a week. Sad. Just sad. His response, “what? That was really good pie.”

I found the recipe in The Dallas Morning News a few months ago. It’s made with peaches, but I just wonder how it would taste with apples or maybe cranberries and apples, a great fall combination. Either way, this dessert was a great debut into the pie genre. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did! Share your thoughts!

SOUTHERN BUTTERMILK PEACH PIE

Not bad for my first pie huh? 🙂

INGREDIENTS

1 (15-ounce) package pie crust

4 to 5 peaches, peeled (divided use)

1/4 cup butter, softened

1 1/2 cups plus 1/8 cup sugar (divided use)

3 tablespoons flour

3 eggs

1/2 cup buttermilk

1 teaspoon vanilla

BAKING INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 400 F. Prepare pie crust according to package directions for a two-crust pie using a 9-inch pie plate; set aside.
  2. Chop peaches to equal 1 cup; puree remaining peaches. Set aside.
  3. Cream butter at high speed of an electric mixer; gradually adding 11/2 cups sugar, beating well. Add flour and beat until smooth. Add eggs, beat until blended. Add buttermilk, peach puree and vanilla; beat well.
  4. Place chopped peaches on bottom of prepared pastry shell; pour buttermilk mixture over peaches. Cut remaining pie crust sheet into 3/4-inch wide strips and arrange in a lattice fashion over the filling. Trim edges, seal and flute. Sprinkle remaining 1/8 cup sugar over prepared pie.
  5. Bake in preheated oven for 5 minutes. Reduce temperature to 350 F and continue to bake an additional 55 minutes or until set. Cool to room temperature; then chill.
2 thoughts on “Hello Autumn! My Very First Southern Buttermilk Peach Pie

Leave a Reply

