San Antonio Trip-Moms Birthday

Hey There!

How’s it going out there? Before I FINALLY get to my recap on my awesome trip to San Antonio for my mom’s birthday, let me ease everyone’s mind and announce that the boy’s family is safe and sound. Hurricane/Tropical Storm Isaac didn’t wash them out. Of course, ONE member of his family was acting out, but all in all, they are good.

Now, August is a HUGE month in my family because it’s my mom’s birthday! It’s almost as big as December which hosts three birthdays—dad, brother, grandma and of course Jesus. Hehe! My mom turned 52 this year. She is an absolutely amazing. I love her so much for her wisdom, candidness and comedic relief. Sometimes, she’s very strong strong-willed. Sometimes she’s just a kid a heart. It’s no surprise that she wanted to spend her birthday at a water park.

Growing up, we used to go to San Antonio all the time, like at least once a year for a while there. My family and I LOVE anything aquatic, so it’s the really the perfect inexpensive get-a-away from the hustle of daily life. We hadn’t been on a “family trip” since our time on the west coast back in 2007. BEST.TIME.EVER. I was really looking forward to celebrating my mom and spending some time with them.

On Thursday, August 9th, her actual birthday, my family, grandparents, aunt and uncle met at Cheddar’s for dinner. Have you ever been to Cheddar’s before? Their food is delicious and very inexpensive. We ate dinner, sang happy birthday, opened presented, devoured red velvet cake and then headed home to get rest for an exciting weekend.

Happy 52nd Birthday Mommy!

Friday morning, I woke up at 9 a.m. What a nice feeling that was!! I checked my work email, sent a few messages and then promised myself that I would disconnect from work for the rest of the weekend.

After we finished packing our clothes and toiletries, loaded the car and hit the road! I laughed to myself because “Cashin Out” by Cash Out came on the radio about 30 minutes into the trip. That song makes me happy. With that Nina!

All of this luggage for 4 people. LOL

Of course we had to stop at the Czech stop in West, Texas for some delicious pastries. Y-U-M! The fact my brother didn’t really want to stop makes him a little un-American. He quickly discovered what the big deal was.

We finally arrived in San Antonio (after passing through Austin of course VOMIT LOL), checked in the hotel and hit the streets to grab something to eat and see some sights.

The San Antonio Riverwalk is truly a must-see Texas attraction. It’s even more gorgeous in the latter parts of the year when the Walk is decorated for the Holidays.

Remember the Alamo!

Friday night, we went to dinner at Mi Tierra, which was a 24-hour restaurant and bakery all in one. I am going to do a review on it later, so stay tuned. Talk about the perfect festive environment for a birthday.

We left the restaurant and hit the club. Yes, you heard me right. I went to a nighttime social establishment with my parental units. Graham Central Station was the location my brother had located through researched. It seemed to be a good choice with 6 clubs in one. Did I see six clubs? I don’t remember. We spent all of our time in the 70s and 80s room and of course, the top 40/Hip Hop room. My dad can only take so much “urban” music, while my mom loves her rap and had in both rooms.

Shot were taken.

We never told them the actual names of the shots

I can’t even make this up.

We left the club at 1:15 a.m.! Can you believe that? My mom said she could have stayed longer. She was serious.

Saturday morning came early. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, put on our swimwear and headed to SEA WORLD AND AQUATICA!!!

Acres of water park=so much fun

Sea World was so much fun.

Too much fun.

Dad petting THE STINGS RAYS. Yes, sting rays!!!!!

I don’t believe in evolution or reincarnation—at all. But I do wonder sometimes if maybe in our former lives, my whole family were all fish, whales to be exact. We absolutely love water. There is such freedom in water.  There is happiness.

Even though the park was infested with bees and the Shamu show was a little lame, the eight hours we spent there were some of the happiest moments of my entire summer.

SHAMMMMUUUUUUUU/FREEEEEE WILLLLLLYYYYYY!!!!

 

Sunday, after watching church on our Apple devices (gotta get our Jesus even though we were out of town), we skipped the complimentary breakfast and made our way to the “Best Tacos in America.” Any time I go out of town, or heck when I am in Dallas, I always try to find the best places to eat. Turns out, Taco Taco Café was visited by Guy Fieri and was voted “Best Taco in America” by several culinary magazines. As a taco connoisseur, I had to try it, and…. I’ll do a review about that later as well.

They are so confident, there is a sign. Excuse my nasty hair.

It was time to return to Dallas. Got to admit it, I was not ready to go. I missed the Boy, but I had so much fun with my mom, dad and brother. It was stree-free fun. There is an unspoken peace that I feel when I am with them. Of course they can be stressful, very stressful, as all families are, but I love them, just love them.

My family is my greatest delight. They support me 100% in everything I do. They are my foundation and my cheerleader section. I am so blessed to have them in my life. As a writer, it’s hard to even convey how much they mean to me. I am so happy that we were able to celebrate my mom’s 52nd birthday, and I can’t wait until the next family trip!

Ta-ta for now,

Vicky D

3 thoughts on “San Antonio Trip-Moms Birthday

  1. Pingback: That One Time I Decided to Start Running….Far | Vicky D's Delights

Leave a Reply

