Friends & Melons

Goooood Morning Everyone!!

How is YOUR week going so far? It is only Wednesday, but I am super stoked because I have a 4-day work week!!! Yaaaayyyy!!!! My family and I are going out of town early Friday morning to San Antonio for my mom’s birthday! OLE!

As USUAL, I started working on this post last week. Every time, I would type one word during a “break”, something would pop up for me to do. It’s okay though. I would rather be busy than bored.

Anywho, last week had a bitter-sweet moment…I said “See You Later and Good Luck” to my friend with my friend Ashley! She moved to Houston this past weekend Houston to teach 2nd grade!! We’ve only been friends for a little more than a year, so I was so sad to see her leave. BUT, I through aside my selfish desires and realized this is truly an amazing opportunity for her!  

It’s kind of a funny story how Ashley and I met. I wasn’t going to say at first, but I’m all about being transparent. My mom and I actually introduced us. Is that weird?? Oh yeah, i thought it was SOOOOO weird at first! I was really embarrased, but I’m glad my mom did because Ashley is such a great person!! She came to my graduation party last year and we have been great friends ever since!

My MBA Graduation Party! Ignore my nasty hair! LOL

I could no longer avoid her leaving me. We met up for dinner at Malai in West Village! I had been there before, but she hadn’t. We started off our evening with the Ma’Lai sampler. YUM!! It came with chicken and beef satay, imperial rolls, spring rolls, Vietnamese meatballs and four really interesting sauces. My fave were the meatballs and the spring rolls, which was convenient because she isn’t a fan of meatballs…at all! Something about the texture doesn’t sit well with her. 

Ma’Lai Sampler

Can’t lie…I might have had two one Mango Mojito too! I didn’t photograph them, I mean “it”, because I was so ashamed. I just couldn’t help myself though. There were only $5. I washed down my guilt. I was a little perturbed at the bartender/waitress because my drank was definitely NOT topped off. I don’t care if I AM paying only 5 bucks for a drink, I would like ALL of it please. 🙂

The main entree was refreshing and light. I had the Vermicelli Salad with Grilled Hanger Salad. When I eat salads for dinner, I tend to always pair it with some BIG meat; otherwise, I will wake up the next morning hungry and angry at the world.

Vermicelli Salad

After dinner, we walked over to LOFT to check out the sale AND not buy the entire store. I succeeded.

Paciugo was calling my name! (yes, yes, yet another things that’s not a part of my challenge, BUT this was a special occasion). So we walked on over to the establishment for some delicious gelato and people watching.

Pretty Friend!

 SIDENOTE: Have you ever watched the West Villagers/Uptowners in the evening while eating Paciugo?? It’s pretty darn funny! How about these spoons on the light fixtures? Never noticed them until now. HA!

SPOOOOONNNSS!!

We chatted for another 30 minutes before walking back to our cars and saying our good-byes! WAAAAAAHHHHHH!!!!!

I treasure Ashley’s friendship dearly. She has such a sweet spirit. We are both very busy people, but we always made time to hang out. We laugh at how we became friends, but at the end of the day, I am so happy my mother intervened (as she always does).

Good Times with a Good Friend!

Friends have been a struggle for me in the past. I find that most people aren’t able to reciprocate my level of friendship. It can be very hurtful. I give and give to friends, and it seems some can’t do the same. I don’t have a lot of friends, but I am so thankful for those individuals who make me a better person.

I’m sad that Ashley won’t live in Dallas anymore, but hey, at least I can take a little vacation and see her.

 “Friends are like melons; shall I tell you why. To find a good one, a hundred you must try.” ~Claude Mermet

Do you have a lot of friends?

One thought on “Friends & Melons

  1. Aw what a sweet post. I am sorry that your friend left…bummer! Although, I would like this opportunity to thank you for being a good friend to me. While we did not get to hang out a lot at OU, I had fun meeting up with you for dinners and to catch up. I also always appreciate your kind messages. You rock!!

Leave a Reply

