What’s in my blog’s name?

Greeting Friends!

Whoa! It’s been too long, far too long. I’m embarrassed. The funny part…I’ve been working on this post for 2 weeks, literally 2 weeks. I starting writing a different only to conclude I had too much to say, and it didn’t know quite where to start. Plus, it was a tad bit too serious and I wanted to save it for another day. So, I guess I could start with explaining my blog name—Vicky D’s Delights.

Well, my real name is actually Victoria. The D is my middle initial, short for Diana. I honestly never, ever went by anything besides Victoria and sometime Vic until I was in college. Then, I guess everyone got super lazy and decided to start calling me Vicky. It sorta stuck. I liked it, but it really didn’t really fit me. When I started my full-time job, I started signing my extremely informal e-mails “Vicky D.” Today, my roommates and dear friends all call me Vicky D. I like it. It’s playful, but the D adds a slight bit of aggression. Hehe! (I’m sure that was too long of an explanation of my name. I tried to warn you that I am wordy.)

Now, the delights. There are two-folded. It’s not just about things that make me happy and bring me joy. It’s finding the joy despite the circumstances.

Still, here are a few of the things that are quite delightful to me and that you will see mentioned on this blog over and over again.

First and foremost, I would say it is my ever assuring faith and trust in the Lord. He not only brings me joy. He keeps me sane. I have to constantly remember that my steps are ordered by Him. Don’t get me wrong, I sometimes question where my steps are headed, but then I remember that even when others leave, He will never forsake me. His joy is invaluable.

Secondly, my family is pretty darn AMAZING!!! I used to think that everyone said that about their family. So not true. I am highly blessed to have a loving and supportive family. My family is a burst of energy. I don’t even have the words to describe the utter gratefulness and appreciation I have to my parents. I wouldn’t be who I am today without them. They provided a sound and peaceful home of learning, guidance and love. I know at the end that I can always turn to them for anything.

The Williams

The Inner Circle of Trust

Thirdly…friends. Now, I have to be real with you. I don’t even have a lot of friends. Like every girl my age, I was bombarded by the ever popular show Sex & the City (and Girlfriends  for the African American females.) I longed to have a life of fabulous and friends like Carrie. That is a TV show and movie. Plus, Carrie Bradshaw had a spending problem and couldn’t even afford a home. Is that really what you want!? You’re delusional Vicky D. Let’s get real. What’s not delusional is having a support system of girls who are there for you through thick  & thin. I don’t have 3 friends who I do everything with persay, but I do have a few girls from each stage of life that I love to death. I know them from different stages of life: high school, college, post college and beyond! LOL They are each unique and very special to me. You’ll learn more about all of them later.

Then, there’s my little Cajun Cutie, Big J. He makes me happy. He listens to me when I complain It’s simple as that.

Snoogule Boogule

Last and most certainly not least, there’s the reason behind this blog—my passion in life–food & cooking. I think about it when I go to sleep. I think about it when I wake up. I think about it when I’m driving. It’s always on my mind. I would go as far to say that I was into cooking before food was even a trend, before Food Network really blew up, before all these food blogs even existed, before young people really thought food, cooking and eating to enjoy flavors was trendy. Not trying to be arrogant, I’m just stating facts. I am infatuated with food. The feeling however is not mutual….more on that later too.

My very first 3 layer cake

Are these the only things that light up my heart? Absolutely not. A good shoe sale at DSW pretty much makes my day as well, but overall, the above makes my heart s smile. Oh darnit, another long post. I have got to do better.

Ta Ta for Now!

~Vicky D

 

One thought on “What’s in my blog’s name?

Leave a Reply

