Life’s Choices and Dallas Food Nerd

Goooooodd Morning!!!

I am in particularly good mood this morning!! Not exactly sure why…hehe! Is it because Christmas is almost here? hmmm..maybe. Is it because I have all of next week off? No, because I only have Christmas Day off next week. Womp Womp! Is it because the weather is warm in Dallas? Nope, it’s all of a sudden freakishly cold here AGAIN.

So, what is it? I’m choosing to be happy! I’ve realized that life really could be A LOT worse than I think. I have so much to be thankful for and frankly complaining is becoming annoying ot everyone around me.

Yesterday, I met up with Clare at Paradise Bakery for a little going away lunch. Clare is one of the first people I met in the blogging world. Ironically, I met her before I even had a blog. She basically commented on another blog that I read (or something like that), and I figured out she was moving from St.Louis to Dallas. I wanted to show her some good ‘ol Dallas hospitality. I hope I achieved that. that was nearly 1.5 years ago. Anywho, Clare has decided to move back home and go back to school. While I will miss her so, I can’t help but be proud of her for leaving her life and family behind to move to a city that she had only flown through. I can’t help but be inspired by the way she handled all of life’s situations with a good attitude. She might not have always been happy, but she always found a way to find the positive aspects of life.

If you read her blog, you will see that transitioning to Dallas and a new phase of life wasn’t an easy process, but she did it. It’s hard to balance everything and everyone. Heck, her blog is called Fitting It All In. I always admired the fact that she was transparent about her life. She entertained her readers (friends), but also educated them and made them think a little bit. I’m going to miss her, but hey, that’s why there are planes, trains and wait, St. Louis is far, so probably no automobiles. hehe!

Life is all about choices. We choose to be sad. We choose to be angry. We choose to be happy. Trust me when I say this is NOT easy to do. In the last 6 months, I have experienced some difficult situations, and it was even more challenging to not fall into a despondent state. It was a constant, daily struggle. I found myself wanting to commiserate over life’s whoas. Stop it, Vicky D. I overcame it. Praise the Lord.

The “Whoa Is Me” complex is really unproductive. I’m over it. I’m too old for it now honestly.

Now, I continue on my original mission, to find the good in all of life’s little delights, like the cookie display at the front entrance of Paradise Bakery near the Galleria. Puts you in the Christmas spirit and includes a complimentary tasty treat.

paradise entry way

Or there’s my little friend, Bob, who I bought at the Dollar Store for $4 four years ago. He only comes out during the holidays, but it makes me happy.

bobOf course, there’s always my favorite delight, FOOD. Yesterday, I ate a BBQ Chopped Chicken Salad and Sonoma Chicken Stew at Paradise. Now, I saw them put cheese in my salad, and I’m 100% sure that my soup had cream in it. Thankfully, I didn’t get sick. There’s nothing better than sharing tasty food with good company. (I didn’t take a pic of Clare because she was sweaty. i knew better.)

paradise lunchI chose to enjoy the sweet and sour moments of life. Granted, I’ve had a lot of sour moments lately, but as someone recently told me, sometimes you have to put up with a whole bunch of sh&^ to get the sweet stuff.

Oh, I almost forgot…my very first article on Dallas Food Nerd was published yesterday! Yaaaay!!! Super excited!!! The Boy and I tried out Pepe’s & Mitos on Saturday night. I originally was going to write a review for this blog, but since I’m a new contributor to DNF, I decided to share the love with them. Go check out my post AND the restaurant!

Have a great day and as my mom used to say, make good choices!

Vicky D

One thought on “Life’s Choices and Dallas Food Nerd

Leave a Reply

